ICC MEN’S T20 World Cup | Sportsnowdays

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

Are you looking for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup?

Here we will provide you with all the information about ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Keep reading…

ICC MEN’S T20 World Cup

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, or ICC World Twenty20, is the Twenty20 cricket international championship. Organised by cricket’s supervising, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament presently consists of 16 teams, including the top ten teams shown on previous ICC Men’s T20 World and six newbie teams chosen through the T20 World Cup After Qualifier. 

The competition is usually held every two years. However, the 2020 edition was due to take place in Australia in 2020. In 2021 due to COVID-19, the tournament was postponed. The host for this tournament changed to India five years after the result of the 2016 edition. But due to the COVID-19 pandemic in India, the match was rearranged to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman. In 2016, the ICC proposed a tournament, and South Africa was the possible host in 2018. But after the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC dropped the concept of the 2018 edition.


When the Benson & Hedges Cup ended, the ECB needed another one-day match to fill it. Cricketing leaders were looking to raise the game’s popularity with the younger generation due to decreasing crowds and reduced sponsorship. Tournaments planned to deliver fast-paced cricket to thousands of fans. Stuart Robertson, the manager of the ECB, proposed a 20-over game to chairpersons in 2001, and they voted 11–7 in turn to assume the new format.

Twenty20 Domestic Cup Startup:

In June 2003, The first official Twenty20 matches were played in the English countryside. In the first successful startup season of Twenty20 in England, the Surrey Lions team defeated the Warwickshire Bears team by nine wickets in the final. It took the title of first twenty20 Domestic cup champion.

Twenty20 Internationals Startup:

On 17 February 2005, Australia won the first men’s full international Twenty20 match against New Zealand, played at Eden Park in Auckland. 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Startup:

It was decided that an ICC World Twenty20 tournament would occur every two years. Two would qualify for the 2009 World Twenty20 and receive $250,000 in prize money. The first ICC World Cup Twenty20 tournament was in South Africa, where India beat Pakistan in the final. Pakistan won the second ICC World Cup Twenty20 tournament.

For the first time, a host country comes to the final of the ICC World Twenty20. In 2012 ICC World Twenty20 was won by the West Indies by defeating Sri Lanka in the finals. On the other hand, England beat Australia by seven wickets. There were 12 participants, including Ireland and Afghanistan, in the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. It was the first time the T20 World Cup tournament took place in an Asian country.

Rules for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

First Round:

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea.

Top 2 winning teams from Groups A and B. There is a promotion to the Super 12 round to qualify for the final round of World T20. After the qualifiers, the 1st place (A1) of Group A and the runner-up (B2) of Group B will join Group 1 to advance to the final. Meanwhile, the first-ranked team (B1) in Group B and the second-ranked team (A2) in Group A will make a run to Group 2 to play in the Super 12 round. 

Final Round: Super 12:

Group 1: Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

  1. The higher number of points
  2. If equal, the higher number of wins
  3. If it still equals a higher net run rate
  4. If still equal lower bowling strike rate
  5. If still equal, the result of a head-to-head meeting.


12007South AfricaIndia14
32010West IndiesEngland14
42012Sri LankaWest Indies14
52014BangladeshSri Lanka16
62016IndiaWest Indies16
72021UAE, OmanAustralia16

Team Performance:

TeamsTotalMatch playedwinsloss
Sri Lanka7432715
South Africa7352213
New Zealand7372015
West Indies7361816
Hong Kong2615
Papua New Guinea1303
United Arab Emirates1303

ICC MEN’S T20 World Cup Live Telecast & Broadcasting:

CountryLive Telecast and Broadcast Channels
IndiaStar Sports network
PakistanPTV Sports and Ten Sports
BangladeshGazi TV (GTV)
Australia and New ZealandYupp TV
South AfricaSuperSport network
The USA and UKHotstar 
Middle EastOSN Sports Cricket

For more updates keep visiting Sportsnowdays Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next magazine you need


most popular